The Tasmanian Canine Defence League Inc. (TCDL) Board and Sub-committees

All Board Directors are elected at our AGM and are supporting the Dogs’ Homes of Tasmania in a voluntary capacity.

Carol Hughes – President

Carol has over 25 years’ experience as a legal practitioner in private practice, and has held senior management positions in both the State and Commonwealth Public Service. She has served on a number of professional and community Boards including Hydro Tasmania, Colony 47, Hobart Women’s Health Centre and Terrapin Puppet Theatre. Carol joined the Board of the Dogs’ Homes of Tasmania in 2014 and has served as Chair of the Governance, Sustainability and Risk Subcommittee since that time, and as President since October 2015. Carol has a strong commitment to social justice, and firmly believes in the need to advocate for those unable to speak for themselves. She acknowledges that promoting and protecting the welfare of animals is as important as protecting the basic rights of human beings who are vulnerable and without a voice. Carol has adopted dogs from the Dogs’ Homes of Tasmania since moving from Sydney in 1979, and is currently “owned” by three gorgeous girls!

Denise Bower – Vice President

Denise’s love of dogs was first evident when she stated that she wanted to buy a Dogs’ Home at the age of five. As the Dogs’ Homes of Tasmania had already been established in 1955, it was only a matter of her waiting to grow up and to work for them. Denise has been a Director since 1977 and has held the role of Secretary, Treasurer and Vice President. She was actively involved in the building of the the current Hobart Dogs’ Home. Denise is Chairperson of the Fundraising Committee and was granted Honorary Life Membership in 2014. Dogs being adopted into caring new homes for their lifetime is a constant source of joy for Denise and her adopted Chrysta from Devonport Dogs’ Home is bringing most joy of all.

Jencie Harrington- Treasurer

With tertiary qualifications in Farm Management, Commerce (Finance and Accounting) and Law, Jencie has had a long career working as an Accountant and as a Lawyer in a range of areas including Project Accounting, Estate Planning and Commercial Law. Jencie is proud dog mum to Caspar an Australian Shepherd and Bear a Smithfield , and loves to spend time with them training for dog sports including Herding, Agility, Obedience, Rally, Tracking and Scent Work. She is also an instructor at the Hobart Canine Obedience Club, a board member of Womens Sport and Recreation Tasmania and treasure of Canine Performance Association of Tasmania.

Aaron McClurg – Secretary and Public Officer

Aaron has over 15 years’ experience in the not for profit area working in Aged and Disability care including his current role as a Senior Manager. He has a Bachelor of Business with a major in Governance and Human Resources and has volunteered previously on the Rokeby Neighbourhood Centre Committee for 12 months. Aaron has strong beliefs in the social benefits of having dogs as he sees the world as a much better place with dogs in people’s lives due to the joy that they bring. He also is passionate about promoting responsible dog ownership both within its home and when part of the community. Aaron is the proud parent of two boys and a Dogs’ Home fur baby.

David Jackson – Director

David has worked in the private sector as an accountant since 1997. During his career he has held senior management roles and worked in the construction, retail and financial services industries. David has completed a Diploma of Management, a Bachelor of Commerce Degree at the University of Tasmania and has been a Member of the Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants since 2001. David joined the Dogs’ Homes of Tasmania Board in 2004. During his time with the Board he has held the roles of Secretary and Treasurer. Over the years David has provided a home for three prior residents of the Dogs’ Homes of Tasmania.

Megan Alessandrini – Director

Megan and her family have adopted Dogs’ Homes of Tasmania dogs all her life, and she has been on the Board since 2002. She has a PhD in Political Science and Public Policy from the University of Tasmania where she is an adjunct senior lecturer. Her research specialisation is nonprofit organisations and political activism. Megan is the Vice President of the Companion Animal Network of Australia, who represent animal welfare across the country. Megan also helps with fundraising for the home and is on several other boards and committees where she promotes the interests of animals. Megan has adopted dogs all her life and could not imagine life without Spaniel-Collie Cross, Jock.


The current Constitution can be downloaded from the following links: TCDL Constitution – 8 September 2022
Scroll to Top